Friday, May 22, 2015

Pelham Writing Workshop: How to Write Novel

Every Thursday from June 4th to August 6th, Anita Saxena is going to be teaching a free course entitled "Pelham Writing Workshop: How to Write  Novel" at the Pelham Civic Center, 500 Amphitheater Road, Pelham, AL 35124. I and author Irene Latham will be guest instructors on one night each of the course. I'm going to give my ScripTips outlining/structure talk on Thursday, June 18th, at 4:00 PM. Again, attendance is free, but you must be registered for the entire workshop, not just my day. To do so, or to inquire with questions, email pelhamwritingworkshop at gmail.com. (And copies of Frostbornwill be on sale at the event.)


Thursday, May 21, 2015

Read an Excerpt from Nightborn

Thanks to the generosity of Pat's Fantasy Hotlist, today you can read an excerpt from my forthcoming novel, Nightborn (Thrones and Bones 2). I should point out that this is a scene from the middle of Chapter Two, so it differs from the content that will be shared as a preview on online merchant sites when the book is available for sale.

Nightborn will be released July 14th from Penguin Random House's Crown Books for Young Readers. Meanwhile, please check it out.


Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Nightborn: Testament to Surly Dragons!

Kirkus has reviewed Nightborn,the forthcoming second book in the Thrones & Bones series. It's a fantastic review, especially for the second book of a series. They say:
"Whereas the first book was characterized by a fair amount of adult guidance, this tale is primarily propelled by young protagonists and antagonists (an enthralling doppelgänger dark elf pair also seeks the horn). In turn, Karn and Thianna are more defiant, less naïve, and have more to lose this time around—namely each other—but they refuse to lose themselves. A winning testament to the value of friendship and to a surly dragon’s power of persuasion."

Monday, May 11, 2015

Nightborn: The First Review

The first review for Nightbornis out!  It's actually a joint review of Frostborn and Nightborn from All About Romance's Blog, who calls the Thrones & Bones series, "My latest young reader obsession." It's a good review but spoiler without a lot of quotables.

They do say, "I loved meeting the new character Desstra, seeing new parts of the realm and watching Thiana and Karn grow as characters."

Monday, May 04, 2015

Imagination Soup: 5th Grade Summer Reading List

Yay! Imagination Soup has included Frostborn in its 5th Grade Summer Reading List, in the category of "If you like fantasy adventures, you’ll love:" and alongside some heady company!

Here's the full list:

Chronicles of Narnia
Odd and the Frost Giants
Starcatchers
Five Kingdoms
Thrones of Bones Frostborn
Sea of Trolls
The Secret Zoo
The Land of Stories
Erec Rex
Legacy of the Claw (Animas #1)
Dragon Slippers

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Frostborn: Best Books for Children

I missed this when it happened but apparently Lift Bridge Books of Brockport, NY includedFrostborn in its ABC Best Books for Children & Teens Too holiday gift guide.

Which makes the total Frostborn accolade list:

  • Starred Review in Publisher's Weekly.
  • PW Picks" Books of the Week for week of August 4th
  • Editor's Choice of Amazon for the month of August
  • 2015-2016 Beehive Book Award Nominee - Children's Fiction
  • io9's "Must-Read Science Fiction and Fantasy Books for August"
  • Bank Street College of Education's Best Children's Books of the Year
  • Imagination Soup "Best Books for 10 Year Olds"
  • SciFiChick’s Best of 2014
  • Aleksandra's Corner: My Top Ten Authors I've Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More
  • Aleksandra's Corner Top 10 of 2014
  • A Book Long Enough: Percy Jackson Read-Alikes: Mythical Fantasy for Kids Ages 9-12
  • Tween Us: 5 books tweens will love that make great gifts
  • Things Matter 2014 Survey: Best 2014 debut. Favorite Cover.
  • Kidspace (Springfield, Missouri district library): A Guide to the Good Stuff - Fantasy Ages 9-12
  • Fantasy Book Critic Mahir’s Top Reads of 2014 : TOP TEN DEBUTS OF 2014
  • Bookworm Etc Best of 2014
  • Edmonds Booktalk: Award-worthy books to add to your reading list
  • ABC Best Books for Children & Teens Too (Lift Bridge Books)
  • Staff Pick/Recommended Read at 13 bookstores and libraries nationwide

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

D&D and Me: Temple of Elemental Evil Board Game

Back in 2013, I was a guest of honor at the fabulous CONvergence convention in Bloomington, MN. It's a great con, and I had a blast, primarily due to the caliber of the people. The con runners are great and so are the attendees. One person I met is game designer extraordinaire Peter Lee, of Lords of Waterdeepfame.

Peter and I ended up talking late night in the bar about my theories of story structure. He told me afterwards that our conversation had positively impacted his work on his next project. Now, on Board Game Geek's Designer Diary, he writes about how our discussion influenced design choices in crafting the new Dungeons and Dragons: Temple of Elemental Evil Board Game.It's a fascinating article well worth your time (and I'd say that even if he didn't give Frostborn a very kind shout out).

My only regret from that evening is that Peter and I haven't been in the same city at the same time since. But maybe that's a good thing. I learned as much from him as he did from me, and if we lived nearer to each other, it's possible our heads would explode.

Meanwhile, please check out his article and his work. He's a fascinating guy who makes great things. And I'm very glad to know him.