Monday, January 12, 2009

FF2 up for the PKD: 2008 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced

Fast Forward 2has just been shortlisted for the 2008 Philip K. Dick Award, with the result that I can barely type let alone think. So in lieu of being eloquent, here's the press release:
The judges of the 2008 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia SF Society, along with the Philip K. Dick Trust, are pleased to announce six nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

EMISSARIES FROM THE DEAD by Adam-Troy Castro (Eos Books)
ENDGAME by Kristine Smith (Eos Books)
FAST FORWARD 2 edited by Lou Anders (Pyr)
JUDGE by Karen Traviss (Eos Books)
TERMINAL MIND by David Walton (Meadowhawk Press)
TIME MACHINES REPAIRED WHILE-U-WAIT by K. A. Bedford (EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 10, 2009 at Norwescon 32 at the Doubletree Seattle Airport Hotel, SeaTac, Washington.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. Last year’s winner was NOVA SWING by M. John Harrison (Bantam Spectra) with a special citation to FROM THE NOTEBOOKS OF DR. BRAIN by Minister Faust (Del Rey). The 2008 judges are Tobias Buckell, M. M. Buckner (chair), Walter Hunt, Rosemary Kirstein, and William Senior.

For more information, contact the award administration:

David G. Hartwell (914) 769-5545.

Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society,

Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 563-2511

For more information about the Philip K. Dick Trust:

For more information about Norwescon:

Contact NorthWest SF Society: (360) 438-0871
Congrats to all the nominees, and a special shout of gratitude to everyone who contributed to Fast Forward 2!

Update 1/14/09: Kristine Smith's Endgame is apparently ineligible. It has been removed from the list, and replaced with my friend Jeff Carlson's Plague War. Congratulations Jeff! 


J M McDermott said...

Good job!

Good luck!

Adam Roberts said...

Congratulations, Lou! Great news.

Rene said...

Congratulations! That's wonderful news.

Lou Anders said...

Thank you all three!

Aaron Hughes said...

Wow! I just scanned the Locus awards index, and it looks like this is only the third time in the 27-year history of the award that an anthology has been shortlisted. Nice work!

Lou Anders said...

Yup, apparently Leviathan 3 in 2003 was the first fiction anthology ever nominated. Steve Tem edited a poetry antho that was also nominated.

Aaron Hughes said...

Oops -- I missed the poetry anthology. The first fiction anthology nominated was Not of Woman Born edited by Constance Ash, nominated in 2000.

Lou Anders said...

So the 4th anthology, the third short fiction anthology?

Aaron Hughes said...

Right. An elite group, however you slice it!

Alvaro Zinos-Amaro said...


Joe Abercrombie said...

Many congratulations, Lou.

Jetse de Vries said...

Congrats, Lou!

Lou Anders said...

Thanks all. If it actually *won*, the award really should be chopped up into 15 different pieces, of course.