Wednesday, February 03, 2016

Sea-Tac here I come: Heading to Mythic Worlds 2016

This coming weekend I am a guest of Mythicworlds 2016, to be held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport (18740 International Boulevard, Seattle, Washington). I'll be giving a Thrones & Bones presentation, demonstrating a game of Thrones & Bones, teaching a writing workshop, and appearing on world building and cover art panels with the other great guests! If you're in the Seattle area, come say hi and get a signed copy of Frostborn or Nightborn!

Here is my convention schedule:

3:00 – 4:00 Building Imaginary Worlds in Novels – Danika Dinsmore,
Anna Kyss, Nina K Hoffman, Lou Anders, Deborah Schneider
(Worlds of Fantasy)
World building is a vital aspect of speculative fiction and some authors have a special knack for it. Do they build their worlds before they put words on the page, as they are writing their stories, or a combination of the two? Are there special tricks, exercises, or skills for world-building? Listen and ask questions as our authors share their unique world-building experiences and read a short selection from their work.
11:00 – 11:45 Inside the World of Thrones & Bones:
Story & Art – Lou Anders (Worlds of Fantasy)

Lou Anders introduces the experience that is Thrones & Bones: a book series, a board game, and, of course, the art. Lou’s viking-inspired creation is heavily illustrated, and Lou will be giving MythicWorlds a behind-the-scenes look at the art and writing of his adventure series. “Thrones & Bones” series will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Lloyd Alexander.
12:00 – 12:45 Thrones & Bones Game Demonstration – Lou Anders (Worlds of Fantasy)

Lou Anders’ fantasy adventure series, “Thrones & Bones” takes its name from a board game that appears in the first book, “Frostborn.” Come learn about and play the actual “Thrones & Bones” game that appears in the novel. Loosely based on ancient Scandinavian board games, “Thrones & Bones” is a strategy game with a fantasy twist.

2:00 – 2:45 Storytelling with Images & Words – Lou Anders,
Melissa Marr, Cynthia Sheppard, A.M. Sartor, Deborah Schneider  (Worlds of Fantasy)
Book covers and illustrations are an essential part of marketing books but do authors and artists collaborate or work independently? On this panel we bring authors and artists together to discuss the process, and how images and words serve each other to dramatically tell stories in fantastic worlds.
11:00 – 1:30 Author Book Signing / Reading Event – Open to the Public

In addition, I am also teaching a Writing Workshop:

SATURDAY, 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM 


Everyone who has tried their hand at writing has a folder full of openings that go nowhere. Many promising ideas bog down in their second half. In this audio-visual presentation, Lou Anders, author of the Thrones & Bones series from Penguin Random House and Hugo-award winning editor, discusses how a unique approach to structuring story in Hollywood screenplays can be repurposed to help writers struggling with outlining their novel. Using examples from film, Anders will demonstrate how character and structure work together to provide pace and reveal theme.

Learn simple techniques that have been demonstrated to help authors bring out the most in their story and maximize their emotional connection with their readers. Whether an author is a plotter or a panser, an understanding of these simple underlying principals in screenwriting can offer valuable insights for all novelists. Recommended pre-workshop viewing: Casablanca, The Dark Knight, The Avengers, Big Hero 6, Ant-Man, The Amazing Spider-Man (2), Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol.

Duration: 120 min
Class limit: 40

No comments: